Go to the main page
Department of Cryophysiology
Research Fellows:

The Department was established in 1988. From 1988 till 2017 the Department was headed by Dr. Heorhiy Babiychuk, Winner of the Prize of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR in the field of physiology and theoretical medicine named after O.O. Bogomolets (1993)." From June 2017 the Department is headed by Dr. Vladislav Babiychuk.


  •  Study of the mechanisms of effect of rhythmic extreme cooling exposure (at -120°C), as well as in combination with introducing cryopreserved nucleated cord blood cells, on the structural and functional state of the regulatory systems of animals in norm and under several pathological conditions.
  • Elucidation of the characteristics of cold exposures of different intensity and modality on the state of functional systems of the animal body and using of these characteristics for improvement of the treatment of several pathological conditions.
  • Study of the peculiarities of physiological responses of the body to cold exposures; as well as the state of an organism under the natural hypometabolic states (hibernation); the combined effects of long-term stays at low temperatures, different light regimens and enclosed space (in the Ukrainian Antarctic Akademik Vernadsky station) and the role of sleep-wake cycle environmental factors.


  • Investigation of the action of different types and regimens of rhythmic cold exposures and cryopreserved human cord blood on the state of homeostatic regulatory systems of the organism of experimental animals (Research Code 133, State Registration Number 0121U107846). 2021–2025.
  • Formation of adaptive responses of the organism of experimental animals under effect of artificial cooling and cryopreserved nuclear-containing cord blood cells during aging and pathological conditions (Research Code 103, State Registration Number 0116U003493). 2016–2020


  • Vladyslav Babiychuk has the Diploma of the Presidium of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (2018); and is the Winner of the Prize named after D.F. Chebotaryov (2022) 
  • Oleksandr Shylo has got the Gratitude of the North-East Scientific Center of the National Academy of Sciences and the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine (2017)
  • Olena Bondarenko is the Laureate of the scholarship of the President of Ukraine for Young Scientists (2020)
Go to the main page

23, Pereyaslavskaya str., Kharkiv, Ukraine 61016
Institute for Problems of Cryobiology and Cryomedicine of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine
Tel: +380 57 373 4143,   373 3807,   373 3039;     Fax: +380 57 373 3084
E-mail: cryo.ua@gmail.com